"Battery Park City and the Authority are not just about the buildings – it’s about the character of the community that has developed over time. Public space has had a new renaissance in New York City, but here in Battery Park City is where it started."

B.J. JONES

President & CEO
  • 03/23
  • BPC People
  • Community

COVID-19 UPDATES

UPDATE (June 24)

What You Need to Know

– Governor Cuomo has partnered with New Jersey Governor Murphy and Connecticut Governor Lamont to create a joint travel advisory for individuals traveling from states with significant community spread of COVID-19, requiring a quarantine for 14 days when visiting their states. 

– $65M in federal CARES Act funding is available for child care providers to support new childcare health and safety protocols and assist closed programs with reopening.

– Go to forward.ny.gov to find out: Which phase of reopening your region is in; the industry guidance for each phase; regional dashboards for monitoring how the virus is being contained; and information on loans for small businesses.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through July 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services. Any New Yorker can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– The deadline for New York State personal income tax and corporation tax returns has been extended from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020.

UPDATE (June 22)

What You Need to Know

– New York City, Mid-Hudson Valley and Long Island are in phase two of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; the Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase three.

– The Mid-Hudson Valley is on track to enter phase three tomorrow, June 23; with Long Island expected to follow on Wednesday, June 24.

– Governor Cuomo signs an Executive order stating that businesses violating the reopening guidelines could result in immediate loss of their liquor license and a shut down order; the area immediately outside their locations are also the responsibility of the business. 

– Hospitals and group homes will be allowed to accept visitors at their discretion, while following state guidelines including time-limited visits and requiring visitors to wear PPE and be subject to symptom and temperature checks.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to July 15, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through July 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

UPDATE (June 21)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is on track to enter phase two of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island and Mid-Hudson Valley are on track to enter phase three; the Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase three.

– New York City has been cleared by global public health experts to begin phase two of reopening Monday with Mid Hudson on track to enter phase three on Tuesday.

– Governor Cuomo signs an Executive order stating that businesses violating the reopening guidelines could result in immediate loss of their liquor license and a shut down order; the area immediately outside their locations are also the responsibility of the business. 

– Guidance for colleges and universities to allow some in person instruction and on-campus housing for the fall is coming soon.

– Hospitals and group homes will be allowed to accept visitors at their discretion, while following state guidelines including time-limited visits and requiring visitors to wear PPE and be subject to symptom and temperature checks.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through July 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.

UPDATE (June 18)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is on track to enter phase two of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island and Mid-Hudson Valley are on track to enter phase three; the Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase three.

– Governor Cuomo signs an Executive order stating that businesses violating the reopening guidelines could result in immediate loss of their liquor license and a shut down order; the area immediately outside their locations are also the responsibility of the business. 

– Governor Cuomo signs legislation prohibiting health care employers from penalizing employees for making complaints of employer violations.

– Governor Cuomo announced gatherings of up to 25 people will be allowed in phase three.

– Guidance for colleges and universities to allow some in person instruction and on-campus housing for the fall is coming soon.

– Hospitals and group homes will be allowed to accept visitors at their discretion, while following state guidelines including time-limited visits and requiring visitors to wear PPE and be subject to symptom and temperature checks.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through July 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.

UPDATE (June 17)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is on track to enter phase two of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island and Mid-Hudson Valley are on track to enter phase three; the Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase three.

– New York State reached the lowest percentage of positive COVID-19 tests yesterday since the pandemic began.

– Governor Cuomo signs legislation prohibiting health care employers from penalizing employees for making complaints of employer violations.

– Governor Cuomo announced gatherings of up to 25 people will be allowed in phase three.

– Hospitals and group homes will be allowed to accept visitors at their discretion, while following state guidelines including time-limited visits and requiring visitors to wear PPE and be subject to symptom and temperature checks.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through July 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 16)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is in phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island, Mid-Hudson Valley and the Capital Region are in phase two; Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase three.

– Global public health experts have cleared the Capital Region to enter phase three tomorrow, June 17th.

– Governor Cuomo announced gatherings of up to 25 people will be allowed in phase three.

– The U.S. Open will be held in Queens without fans, and with extraordinary precautions to protect players and staff, from August 31st to September 13th.

– Hospitals and group homes will be allowed to accept visitors at their discretion, while following state guidelines including time-limited visits and requiring visitors to wear PPE and be subject to symptom and temperature checks.

– The NYS COVID-19 Maternity Task Force, Chaired by Secretary Melissa DeRosa, announced the State Department of Health will allow midwife-led birthing centers in New York for the first time.

– The state has reached the lowest number of hospitalizations and deaths on the three-day average since the pandemic began.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through July 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 15)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is in phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island, Mid-Hudson Valley, Capital Region, and Western New York are in phase two; Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase three.

– Western New York has been cleared to enter Phase 3 on June 16th with the Capital Region expected to follow on the 17th.

– Governor Cuomo announced gatherings of up to 25 people will be allowed in Phase 3.

– The state has reached the lowest number of hospitalizations and deaths on the three-day average since the pandemic began

– Low-risk youth sports for regions in phase three of reopening can begin on July 6.

– Governor Cuomo signs legislation requiring the State Department of Health to conduct a study on the health impacts of COVID-19 on minorities in New York State.

– Governor Cuomo is reminding bars and restaurants that any violations of reopening rules and guidelines can result in the loss of that establishment’s liquor license. Additionally, individuals can be fined for open container and social distancing violations.

– Governor Cuomo is urging all protesters to get a COVID-19 test. Find a test site near you.

– Local or state facilities that operate as a cooling center may open at their discretion while following state guidance; the Department of Health released interim guidance for cooling centers.

– Special education services and instruction may be provided in-person this summer; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these services.

– Governor Cuomo announced that localities may open public pools and playgrounds at their discretion while following state guidance; the Department of Health released interim guidance for pools.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies; or have Socially distanced graduations of up to 150 people starting on June 26th. 

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through July 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 12)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is in phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island, Mid-Hudson Valley, Capital Region, and Western New York are in phase two; Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase tree.

– According to the Rate of Transmission (Rt) website rt.live, New York State has the nation’s lowest Rt, at .77.

– Governor Cuomo is urging all protesters to get a COVID-19 test. Find a test site near you.

– Local and state facilities that operate as a cooling center may open at their discretion while following state guidance; the Department of Health released interim guidance for cooling centers.

– Special education services and instruction may be provided in-person this summer; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these services.

– Governor Cuomo announced that localities may open public pools and playgrounds at their discretion while following state guidance; the Department of Health released interim guidance for pools.

– In partnership with Sean Penn and CORE (Community Organized Relief Effort), NYS has established 11 testing sites in hotspot neighborhoods that have been impacted the most by COVID-19, bringing the total number of testing sites in NYS to more than 800. 

– Socially distanced graduations of up to 150 people will be allowed beginning June 26th.

– Places of worship will be permitted to reopen with 25 percent occupancy with all social distancing protocols in place during phase two of reopening.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 11)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is in phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island, Mid-Hudson Valley, Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase two.

– Governor Cuomo is urging all protesters to get a COVID-19 test. Find a test site near you.

– Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country and Southern Tier are on track to enter phase three of reopening tomorrow, June 12th.

– Special education services and instruction may be provided in-person this summer; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these services.

– Governor Cuomo announced that localities may open public pools and playgrounds at their discretion while following state guidance; the Department of Health released interim guidance for pools.

– In partnership with Sean Penn and CORE (Community Organized Relief Effort), NYS has established 11 testing sites in hotspot neighborhoods that have been impacted the most by COVID-19, bringing the total number of testing sites in NYS to more than 800. 

– Socially distanced graduations of up to 150 people will be allowed beginning June 26th.

– Places of worship will be permitted to reopen with 25 percent occupancy with all social distancing protocols in place during phase two of reopening.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 10)

What You Need to Know

– New York City is in phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Long Island, Mid-Hudson Valley, Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase two.

– Governor Cuomo is urging all protesters to get a COVID-19 test. Find a test site near you.

– Special education services and instruction may be provided in-person this summer; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these services.

– The state is opening 14 new temporary testing sites at churches located in communities particularly impacted by COVID-19.

– In partnership with Sean Penn and CORE (Community Organized Relief Effort), NYS has established 11 testing sites in hotspot neighborhoods that have been impacted the most by COVID-19, bringing the total number of testing sites in NYS to more than 800. 

– Socially distanced graduations of up to 150 people will be allowed beginning June 26th.

– Places of worship will be permitted to reopen with 25 percent occupancy with all social distancing protocols in place during phase two of reopening.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies.

– Medical schools statewide will be allowed to reopen on June 22nd.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.

 For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 9)

What You Need to Know

– New York City, and Long Island are in phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Mid-Hudson Valley, Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase two.

– Governor Cuomo is urging all protesters to get a COVID-19 test. Find a test site near you.

– Special education services and instruction may be provided in-person this summer; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these services.

– Long Island has been cleared by global public health experts to begin phase two of reopening on June 10.

– The state is opening 14 new temporary testing sites at churches located in communities particularly impacted by COVID-19.

– In partnership with Sean Penn and CORE (Community Organized Relief Effort), NYS has established 11 testing sites in hotspot neighborhoods that have been impacted the most by COVID-19, bringing the total number of testing sites in NYS to more than 800. 

– New York State is delivering 500,000 cloth masks, as well as 10,000 gallons and 100,000 2-oz. bottles of hand sanitizer to Metro North.

– Socially distanced graduations of up to 150 people will be allowed beginning June 26th.

– Places of worship will be permitted to reopen with 25 percent occupancy with all social distancing protocols in place during phase two of reopening.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies.

– Medical schools statewide will be allowed to reopen on June 22nd.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns. 

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 8)

What You Need to Know

– New York City, Long Island, and Mid-Hudson Valley Regions are in phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier are in phase two.

– Governor Cuomo is urging all protesters to get a covid test. Find a test site near you.

– New York City can resume elective surgeries and ambulatory care.

– The state is opening 14 new temporary testing sites at churches located in communities particularly impacted by COVID-19.

– The state is deploying over one million masks, as well as 35,000 gallons, and 500,000 2 oz. bottles of sanitizer to the MTA.

– The Mid-Hudson Valley is on track to enter phase two of reopening June 9 and Long Island is on track to enter phase two on June 10.

– Socially distanced graduations of up to 150 people will be allowed beginning June 26th.

– Places of worship will be permitted to reopen with 25 percent occupancy with all social distancing protocols in place during phase two of reopening.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies.

– Medical schools statewide will be allowed to reopen on June 22nd.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 6)

What You Need to Know

– Long Island and Mid-Hudson Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country and Southern Tier can enter phase two.

– New York City will enter phase one of reopening on June 8 adding 10 additional testing spots to hotspot areas who are predominantly low income and minority communities.

– The state is deploying over one million masks, as well as 25,000 gallons and 500,000 2 oz. bottles of sanitizer to the MTA.

– The Mid-Hudson Valley is on track to enter phase two of reopening June 9 and Long Island is on track to enter phase two on June 10.

– Places of worship will be permitted to reopen with 25 percent occupancy with all social distancing protocols in place during phase two of reopening.

– Governor Cuomo will issue an Executive Order allowing commercial buildings to conduct temperature checks for anyone entering the building.

– The state is expanding COVID-19 testing criteria to include any individual who attended recent protests.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies.

– Medical schools statewide will be allowed to reopen on June 22nd.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (June 5)

What You Need to Know

– Long Island and Mid-Hudson Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, Finger Lakes, – Mohawk Valley, North Country and Southern Tier can enter phase two.

– New York City will enter phase one of reopening on June 8.

– The Mid-Hudson Valley is on track to enter phase two of reopening June 9 and Long Island is on track to enter phase two on June 10.

– The state is expanding COVID-19 testing criteria to include any individual who attended recent protests.

– Schools will be permitted to hold drive-in and drive-through graduation ceremonies this year; the Department of Health released interim guidance for these ceremonies.

– Medical schools statewide will be allowed to reopen on June 22nd.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– As New York City prepares for phase 1 of reopening on June 8th, 10 additional testing spots will be added to hotspot areas who are predominantly low income and minority communities. 

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 29)

What You Need to Know

– Long Island, Capital Region, Western New York and Mid-Hudson Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan; Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country and Southern Tier can enter phase two.

– New York City will enter phase one of reopening on June 8.

– Governor Cuomo announced the implementation of a new early warning dashboard to monitor and review how the virus is being contained on an ongoing basis.

– New York State and local governments will provide death benefits for frontline workers who died from COVID-19 during this emergency.

– The state is continuing to direct resources and focus efforts on reducing the spread of COVID-19 in lower-income and predominately minority neighborhoods.

– Governor Cuomo issued an Executive Order authorizing businesses to deny entry to individuals not wearing masks or face-coverings.

– The winners of the Wear a Mask New York Ad Contest are: “We Heart New York” created by Bunny Lake Films and “You Can Still Smile” by Natalia Bougadellis and Emory Parker.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 28):

What You Need to Know

– Long Island, Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier, Mid-Hudson Valley, and Mohawk Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan.

– New York City remains on PAUSE until they meet the metrics required to begin reopening. 

– New York State and local governments will provide death benefits for frontline workers who died from COVID-19 during this emergency.

– The state is continuing to direct resources and focus efforts on reducing the spread of COVID-19 in lower-income and predominately minority neighborhoods.

– Governor Cuomo issued an Executive Order authorizing businesses to deny entry to individuals not wearing masks or face-coverings.Governor Cuomo announced a partnership with Rosie Perez and Chris Rock to foster communication and education on the importance of wearing a mask, testing, and social distancing.

– The MTA will pilot the use of UV light technology to kill COVID-19 in subway cars and crew facilities.

– Governor Cuomo renewed his call for Congress to pass the ‘Americans First Law’ to help prevent corporate bailouts following the COVID-19 pandemic.

– Governor Cuomo called on the U.S. Senate to pass a coronavirus relief bill that helps all Americans and provides unrestricted fiscal support for states. 

– The winners of the Wear a Mask New York Ad Contest are: “We Heart New York” created by Bunny Lake Films and “You Can Still Smile” by Natalia Bougadellis and Emory Parker.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 27):

What You Need to Know

– Long Island, Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier, Mid-Hudson Valley, and Mohawk Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan.

– NYS on PAUSE will continue through May 28 for regions that have not started reopening; a region can enter Phase One of reopening as soon as it meets its required metrics.

– New York State and local governments will provide death benefits for frontline workers who died from COVID-19 during this emergency.

– The state is continuing to direct resources and focus efforts on reducing the spread of COVID-19 in lower-income and predominately minority neighborhoods.

– Governor Cuomo renewed his call for Congress to pass the ‘Americans First Law’ to help prevent corporate bailouts following the COVID-19 pandemic.

– Governor Cuomo called on the U.S. Senate to pass a coronavirus relief bill that helps all Americans and provides unrestricted fiscal support for states. 

– The winners of the Wear a Mask New York Ad Contest are: “We Heart New York” created by Bunny Lake Films and “You Can Still Smile” by Natalia Bougadellis and Emory Parker.

– The state will fast-track construction of the new Empire Station at Penn and the new LaGuardia Airport while rail ridership and air traffic is down.

– Governor Cuomo met with President Trump in Washington D.C. and urged support of a real public infrastructure program to advance infrastructure projects in New York.

– Veterinarian practices will be allowed to open in all regions beginning Tuesday, May 26th.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 26):

What You Need to Know

– Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier, Mid-Hudson Valley, and Mohawk Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan.

– NYS on PAUSE will continue through May 28 for regions that have not started reopening; a region can enter Phase One of reopening as soon as it meets its required metrics.

– Mid-Hudson Region on track to enter Phase One of reopening Tuesday, May 26th; Long Island on track to reopen Wednesday, May 27th

– Campgrounds and RV parks opening Statewide

– Veterinarian Practices will be allowed to open in all regions beginning Tuesday, May 26th

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– New York State has doubled testing capacity to reach 40,000 diagnostic tests per day, and has more than 700 testing sites. We encourage eligible New Yorkers to find a nearby testing site and get tested. 

– New Yorkers are reminded to vote for finalists in the Wear a Mask New York Ad Contest by Monday, May 25th at WearAMask.ny.gov.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Summer school will be conducted through distance learning.

– New York State is partnering with SOMOS to establish 28 additional testing sites at churches and community-based providers in predominately minority neighborhoods.

– Religious gatherings of no more than 10 people and drive-in and parking lot services will be allowed statewide beginning Thursday, May 21st.

– Long Island and Mid-Hudson Valley Regions will be permitted to begin construction staging in anticipation of phase one of reopening.

– Memorial Day ceremonies of 10 people or less will be allowed statewide, with final decisions about ceremonies being left to local governments. 

– A new pilot program with 52 independent pharmacies will conduct 7,000 tests per week. 

– The state is making its contact tracing training curriculum available at no cost to all states through the National Governors Association.

– In coordination with neighboring states, public and private beaches will open with certain restrictions on May 22, ahead of Memorial Day weekend.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 24):

What You Need to Know

– Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier, Mid-Hudson Valley, and Mohawk Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan.

– NYS on PAUSE will continue through May 28 for regions that have not started reopening; a region can enter Phase One of reopening as soon as it meets its required metrics.

– Mid-Hudson Region on track to enter Phase One of reopening Tuesday, May 26th; Long Island on track to reopen Wednesday, May 27th

– Campgrounds and RV parks opening Statewide

– Veterinarian Practices will be allowed to open in all regions beginning Tuesday, May 26th

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– New York State has doubled testing capacity to reach 40,000 diagnostic tests per day, and has more than 700 testing sites. We encourage eligible New Yorkers to find a nearby testing site and get tested. 

– New Yorkers are reminded to vote for finalists in the Wear a Mask New York Ad Contest by Monday, May 25th at WearAMask.ny.gov.

– The $100M New York Forward Loan Fund will provide loans to small businesses, focusing on minority and women owned small businesses, that did not receive federal COVID-19 assistance.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Summer school will be conducted through distance learning.

– New York State is partnering with SOMOS to establish 28 additional testing sites at churches and community-based providers in predominately minority neighborhoods.

– Religious gatherings of no more than 10 people and drive-in and parking lot services will be allowed statewide beginning Thursday, May 21st.

– Long Island and Mid-Hudson Valley Regions will be permitted to begin construction staging in anticipation of phase one of reopening.

– Memorial Day ceremonies of 10 people or less will be allowed statewide, with final decisions about ceremonies being left to local governments. 

– A new pilot program with 52 independent pharmacies will conduct 7,000 tests per week. 

– The state is making its contact tracing training curriculum available at no cost to all states through the National Governors Association.

– In coordination with neighboring states, public and private beaches will open with certain restrictions on May 22, ahead of Memorial Day weekend.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 21):

What You Need to Know

– Capital Region, Western New York, Central New York, North County, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier and Mohawk Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan.

– NYS on PAUSE will continue through May 28 for regions that have not started reopening; a region can enter Phase One of reopening as soon as it meets its required metrics.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– New York State has doubled testing capacity to reach 40,000 diagnostic tests per day, and has more than 700 testing sites. We encourage eligible New Yorkers to find a nearby testing site and get tested. 

– New Yorkers can vote for finalists in the Wear a Mask New York Ad Contest through Memorial Day at WearAMask.ny.gov.

– The New York State sales tax filing deadline has been extended to June 22, 2020.

– Summer school will be conducted through distance learning.

– Rockland County is now eligible to resume elective surgeries and ambulatory care.

– New York State is partnering with SOMOS to establish 28 additional testing sites at churches and community-based providers in predominately minority neighborhoods.

– All local governments are directed to expand testing in low-income communities and develop outreach programs.

– Religious gatherings of no more than 10 people and drive-in and parking lot services will be allowed statewide beginning Thursday, May 21st.

– Results of State’s antibody testing survey at churches in lower-income New York City communities show 27 percent of individuals test positive for antibodies, compared with 19.9 percent of New York City’s overall population.

– A two-week hospital visitation pilot program in 20 hospitals across the state will allow increased visitations for family members and loved ones.

– Memorial Day ceremonies of 10 people or less will be allowed statewide, with final decisions about ceremonies being left to local governments. 

– Testing efforts will be increased to help nursing homes meet guidelines stating all staff be tested for COVID-19 twice per week.

– In coordination with neighboring states, public and private beaches will open with certain restrictions on May 22, ahead of Memorial Day weekend.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New York has issued first-in-the-nation criteria to healthcare professionals establishing an interim definition for COVID-related inflammatory illness in children.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 15):

What You Need to Know

– Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier and Mohawk Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan and have begun reopening.

– NYS on PAUSE will continue through May 28 for regions that have not started reopening; a region can enter Phase One of reopening as soon as it meets its required metrics.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

Additional guidelines have been outlined for business that are in phase one of reopening.

– In coordination with neighboring states, public and private beaches will open with certain restrictions on May 22, ahead of Memorial Day weekend.

– All K-12 schools and college facilities statewide will remain closed and continue to provide distance learning, meal delivery and childcare services for the remainder of the school year.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New York has issued first-in-the-nation criteria to healthcare professionals establishing an interim definition for COVID-related inflammatory illness in children.

– Governor Cuomo issues Executive Order mandating all nursing home staff be tested for COVID-19 twice per week.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 14):

What You Need to Know

– Nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– All K-12 schools and college facilities statewide will remain closed and continue to provide distance learning, meal delivery and childcare services for the remainder of the school year.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New York has issued first-in-the-nation criteria to healthcare professionals establishing an interim definition for COVID-related inflammatory illness in children.

– Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier and Mohawk Valley Regions have met all seven metrics required to begin phase one of the state’s regional phased reopening plan when NYS on PAUSE orders expire on May 15th.

– Governor Cuomo released a guide to the state’s “NY Forward Reopening” Plan, along with the state’s regional monitoring dashboard.

– The state Department of Health hosted a webinar for healthcare providers to discuss inflammatory disease in children related to COVID-19; view recording of webinar here.

– Certain low-risk business and recreational activities will be ready to reopen statewide on May 15th, including landscaping and gardening businesses; and recreational activities such as tennis and drive-in movie theaters.

– Governor Cuomo issues Executive Order mandating all nursing home staff be tested for COVID-19 twice per week.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– A new contest asks New Yorkers to create and share a video explaining why wearing a mask in public is important. Interested applicants can go to wearamask.ny.gov.

– Health care workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access 24/7 emotional support services.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 8):

What You Need to Know

– Nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– All K-12 schools and college facilities statewide will remain closed and continue to provide distance learning, meal delivery and childcare services for the remainder of the school year.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– New York State’s moratorium on COVID-related evictions will be extended until August 20th with fees for missed or late rent payments banned during the moratorium.

– Nourish New York Initiative has helped nearly 50 food banks, more than 2,100 New York farms and more than 20,000 households across the state.

– Antibody testing results of health care workers show infection rate among health care workers is about the same or lower than the general public.

– Governor Cuomo extended an executive order allowing out-of-state health care professionals to continue practicing in New York State.

– The results of the state’s completed antibody testing study show 12.3 percent of the population have COVID-19 antibodies.

– A new contest asks New Yorkers to create and share a video explaining why wearing a mask in public is important. Interested applicants can go to wearamask.ny.gov.

– Governor Cuomo outlined the results of new hospitalization data that was collected in a targeted effort to further reduce the number of new hospitalizations per day.

– The state is partnering with the Kate Spade New York Foundation and Crisis Text Line to provide a 24/7 emotional support service for frontline health care workers: workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access these emotional support services.

– New York State-regulated health insurers will be required to waive cost-sharing, including deductibles, copayments and coinsurance, for in-network mental health services for frontline essential workers during COVID-19.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844- 863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (May 4):

What You Need to Know

– Nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– All K-12 schools and college facilities statewide will remain closed and continue to provide distance learning, meal delivery and childcare services for the remainder of the school year.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through June 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– Governor Cuomo outlined the four core factors to determine if a region can re-open: new infections, healthcare capacity, diagnostic testing capacity, and contact tracing capacity as well as outlining new safety precautions each business must implement. 

– More than 1,000,000 New Yorkers have been tested for COVID-19.

– 300,000 testing kits have been made by the National Guard to collect samples, with 60,000 going to labs and hospitals in New York State.

35 counties that do not have significant risk of a COVID-19 surge in the near term can now resume elective outpatient treatments.

– The results of the state’s completed antibody testing study show 12.3 percent of the population have COVID-19 antibodies.

Five new drive-through testing facilities have opened and are now accepting patients in Monroe, Erie, Broome, Niagara and Oneida Counties. Appointments can be made by calling 888-364-3065 or online at covid19screening.health.ny.gov.

– The state is partnering with the Kate Spade New York Foundation and Crisis Text Line to provide a 24/7 emotional support service for frontline health care workers: workers can text NYFRONTLINE to 741-741 to access these emotional support services.

– New York State-regulated health insurers will be required to waive cost-sharing, including deductibles, copayments and coinsurance, for in-network mental health services for frontline essential workers during COVID-19.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (April 25):

What You Need to Know

– Schools and nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– New York State is state is expanding diagnostic testing criteria to allow all first responders, health care workers and essential employees to be tested for COVID-19 even if they aren’t symptomatic. 

– Governor Cuomo will issue an Executive Order allowing pharmacists to conduct diagnostic testing for COVID-19.

– Preliminary Phase I results of Antibody Testing Study show 13.9% of the population have COVID-19 antibodies. Find more information and FAQs on antibody testing.

– In face of a dangerous uptick of domestic violence incidents, a new domestic violence text program and new confidential online service will aid victims of abuse.

– Governor Cuomo will issue an Executive Order mandating the NYS Board of Elections automatically mail every New Yorker a postage-paid application for an absentee ballot.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through May 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (April 22):

What You Need to Know

– Schools and nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– Governor Cuomo announced a partnership with the federal government to double testing capacity in New York State.

– The State Department of Health has begun to conduct statewide antibody testing. Find more information and FAQs.

– Governor Cuomo and Mayor Bloomberg announced a nation-leading COVID-19 contact tracing program being done in coordination with Connecticut and New Jersey.

– Governor Cuomo announces financial and administrative relief for all New York State hospitals.

– Elective outpatient treatment can resume in counties and hospitals without significant risk of COVID-19 surge starting next week.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through May 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (April 21):

What You Need to Know

– Schools and nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– The State Department of Health has begun to conduct statewide antibody testing. Find more information and FAQs.

– Elective outpatient treatment can resume in counties and hospitals without significant risk of COVID-19 surge starting next week.

– Governor Cuomo will meet President Trump at the White House on 4/21 to discuss testing.

– Governor Cuomo announces the State will take a regional approach to re-opening.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through May 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (April 18):

What You Need to Know

– Schools and nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– Governor Cuomo issued an executive order directing all NYS public and private labs to coordinate with DOH to prioritize diagnostic testing.

– Governor Cuomo is calling for federal coordination of the supply chain to bring testing to scale so states can begin reopening functions.

– An awareness campaign encourages low-income New Yorkers to claim their Economic Impact Payments under the CARES Act.

– An executive order directs employers to provide essential workers with masks free of charge to wear when interacting with the public.

– A blueprint to un-PAUSE New York will be implemented in coordination with other regional states to get people back to work and ease social isolation without triggering renewed spread of the virus.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive order 202.20 allowing New Yorkers to obtain a marriage license remotely and allowing clerks to perform ceremonies via video conference, a practice that is banned under current law. 

– New COVID-19 testing facilities are opening downstate, primarily in minority communities. Find testing site locations and hours or operation.

– New Yorkers who have recovered from COVID-19 are encouraged to donate blood. Here’s information on how to donate.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through May 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (April 17):

What You Need to Know

– Schools and nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– Governor Cuomo issued executive orders 202.17 and 202.18 requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– Governor Cuomo issued an executive order directing all NYS public and private labs to coordinate with DOH to prioritize diagnostic testing.

– An awareness campaign encourages low-income New Yorkers to claim their Economic Impact Payments under the CARES Act.

– An executive order directs employers to provide essential workers with masks free of charge to wear when interacting with the public.

– A blueprint to un-PAUSE New York will be implemented in coordination with other regional states to get people back to work and ease social isolation without triggering renewed spread of the virus.

– New COVID-19 testing facilities are opening downstate, primarily in minority communities. Find testing site locations and hours or operation.

– New Yorkers who have recovered from COVID-19 are encouraged to donate blood. Here’s information on how to donate.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through May 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (April 16):

What You Need to Know

– Schools and nonessential businesses will stay closed through May 15th.

– Governor Cuomo issued an executive order requiring all people in New York to wear masks or face coverings in public, including when taking public or private transportation or riding in for-hire vehicles.

– An executive order directs employers to provide essential workers with masks free of charge to wear when interacting with the public.

– NYS will conduct antibody tests prioritizing frontline workers beginning this week.

– Governor Cuomo and several northeast state Governors announced the creation of a multi-state council to restore the economy.

– New COVID-19 testing facilities are opening downstate, primarily in minority communities. Find testing site locations and hours or operation.

– New Yorkers who have recovered from COVID-19 are encouraged to donate blood. Here’s information on how to donate.

– New Yorkers without health insurance can apply through NY State of Health through May 15, 2020; must apply within 60 days of losing coverage.

– New Yorkers can call the COVID-19 Emotional Support Hotline at 1-844-863-9314 for mental health counseling.

– Testing is free for all eligible New Yorkers as ordered by a health care provider.

– Your local health department is your community contact for COVID-19 concerns.  

For more information: coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home

Click here to receive daily Coronavirus updates by email.

UPDATE (April 3): For access to emergency food and other resources, click here.

UPDATE (March 28): Pursuant to State guidance, all non-essential construction work in Battery Park City has been suspended. Active construction sites have been adequately secured and will remain so until the order is lifted and work can resume.

Battery Park City’s parks are open for passive use and solitary recreation only. Governor Cuomo is urging all New Yorkers to stay home as much as possible.

Beginning Monday, March 23, 2020, for the safety of all parks users and help to stop the spread of COVID-19, BPCA) is implementing the following measures:

– BPC’s park lawns will begin opening on a rolling basis. When outdoors please be sure to practice good social distancing, keeping at least 6 feet apart from others. If you arrive at a park and crowds are forming, please return another time.

– To reduce density, BPC’s athletic courts, sporting fields, playgrounds, dog runs, and public restrooms are closed until further notice

– BPCA Programs are canceled until further notice

– The Community Center at Stuyvesant High School remains closed until further notice

Click here for additional guidance on how to protect yourself when enjoying the outdoors BPC Parks.

We appreciate your support and patience as we navigate this public health crisis together.

Learn more about COVID-19 at https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov or by calling (888) 364-3065.

Back to Blog Homepage